DUI Drunk Driving Hot Topics  

DUI DWI Drunk Driver Overview

DUI DWI Drunk Driver FAQ's

Drunk Driving Litigation

Driving While Intoxicated

Second DUI Repeated Offense

Felony DUI Help

DWI OUI Manslaughter Death

Under Age Drinking Legal Help

Drugs DUI Driving

DUI Third Offense

Over the BAC Limit Help

Out of State DUI

Drinking While Boating DUI

Sobriety Test Blood Tests

Community Service

Traffic School

Driver's License Revocation

Implied Consent Laws

Bail and Bonds

Dram Shop Laws

Probation

Breath Analyzer Test

 

DUI DWI News & Articles

What will happen to Camp Hill's police chief? DUI doesn't always mean job loss for law enforcement
Nothing says a Pennsylvania police chief convicted...
Read More

Firefighter charged with killing pregnant teen in DUI crash
CEDAR HILL, Texas – A Dallas firefighter is c...
Read More

DUI manslaughter convict jailed after 14 years as fugitive
Trent Albury was handed a prison sentence for kill...
Read More

Golden Chopsticks Owner Not Guilty Of DUI, Judge Barrett Rules
JOLIET, IL - Peter Chan, owner of the popular Boli...
Read More

Affidavit: Firefighter driving over 100 mph in DUI crash that killed pregnant teen
A witness to an alleged drunken driving crash in w...
Read More

‘Teen Mom’ Bride Behind Bars! Matt Baier’s New Wife Arrested On DUI & Drug Charges
Amber Portwood’s ex-fiancé Matt Baier has st...
Read More

Need To Know DUI DWI Issues

Get injury lawyer help now for many of the following injury issues.

Injury laywers that are experienced in representing catastrophic injuries include things such as brain injuries, spinal cord injuries, eye injuries, neurological disorders, severe burns, accidental amputation, and multiple fractures. Victims of catastrophic injuries may suffer from a loss of movement or sensation. They may lose their ability to communicate or have impaired cognitive abilities.

The catastrophic injury may adversely impact the victim's respiration or circulation. Other body systems such as the gastrointestinal system and the urinary system may also be negatively affected by these injuries.

Managing catastrophic injuries can be complicated and require the assistance of a multitude of healthcare professionals. Victims may require the services of healthcare professionals such as physicians, nurses, counselors, and therapists. The long-term costs of services such as these can be astronomical, and most victims are not financially prepared to meet these expenses. A catastrophic injuries attorney can help victims ensure they receive the monetary damages they deserve.

 

 

Local Law Firms Home > DUI DWI Drunk Driving Overview > Connecticut Drunk Driving Laws

Connecticut Drunk Driving Laws

The following laws govern the operation of any motor vehicle or watercraft under the influence of drugs, alcohol, and/or controlled substances in the state of Connecticut.

Blood Alcohol Limit
Connecticut laws state that the legal limit is exceeded when the driver’s blood alcohol content is equal to or higher than 0.08 percent.

Blood Alcohol Limit for Commercial Drivers
Drivers operating a commercial vehicle do not adhere to the standard 0.08 percent that other drivers do; they are considered intoxicated if their blood alcohol limit is equal to or greater than 0.04 percent.

Underage DUI Law in Connecticut
According to laws enforced by Connecticut statutes, the blood alcohol limit for underage drivers (under the age of 21) is 0.02 percent.

Aggravated Blood Alcohol Limit
Strict consequences are enforced for those in Connecticut who exceed a blood alcohol content of 0.16, also known as the aggravated blood alcohol content limit.

Have you or a loved one been arrested for DUI, OUI, or DWI in Connecticut? Our Connecticut attorneys are here to help! Contact a Connecticut drunk driving lawyer as soon as possible for more information about obtaining legal representation in your case.

Penalties For DUI in Connecticut

Connecticut's DUI law consists mainly of three statutes, CGS §§ 14-227a, -227b and -227g.
First time offenders of DUI in Connecticut face anywhere between two days and six months of jail time or up to six months suspended with probation and a 100 hour community service requirement. Additionally, first time offenders must pay a fine ranging from $400 to $1,000 and license suspension of 12 months.

Second time offenders of DUI in Connecticut face anywhere between 129 days and 2 years of jail time in addition to 100 hours of community service and probation, a fine ranging from $1,000 to $4,000 and license suspension of 3 years (or until age 21 if longer.)

Severe penalties are enforced for third and subsequent offenders.

Read more about DUI laws in Connecticut:

Connecticut DUI Statutes
DUI Connecticut Law

Are you currently facing drunk driving charges in Connecticut? Whether you or a loved one is facing charges for a DWI, DUI, or OUI, our Connecticut lawyers are here to help! Contact a Connecticut drunk driving attorney today to learn more about hiring a lawyer who will aggressively pursue the best outcome possible.